The University of Mysore has a string of laurels to its credit in the 100 years of its existence. Beginning with just 11 departments in 1916, today it has grown from strength operating seventy post graduate departments, three postgraduate, One Satellite Centre, four constituent colleges, two hundred thirty affiliated colleges, and fifty-six recognized research centers.

University of Mysore is the mother of four universities including Bnaglore, Mangalore, Shimoga and Karnataka State Open University. It has been accredited for the third time by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) for a further period of five years with a score of 3.47 on a-point scale and A-Grade.

The University of Mysore is public state university in Mysore, Karnatak. The University was founded on 27th July 1916 during the reigen of Krishnaraja Wadiyar IV, the Maharaja of Mysore. Its first chancellor was the Maharaja of Mysore. The first Vice-Chancellor was H.V. Nanjundaiah. The main campus located in Manasagangothri campus. Mysore is spread over 739 acres of picturesque land with the Kukkarahalli Lake forming an ideal backup.

In these hundred years some of the greatest minds that this country has seen been part of this hallowed institution either as an alumnus or as a teacher. We have three Bharat Ratnas- Sir M. Visvesvaraya. Dr. S. Radhakrishnan and Dr.N.R. Rao. Two Jnanapeeths- K.V>Puttappa(Kuvempu) and Dr. U. R. Ananthamurthy and scores of Padma Awardees.

Following the centenary celebration which was inaugurated by the President of India, Pranab Mukherjee on July 27, 2015, under the dynamic leadership of then Hon'ble Vice-chancellor Prof K.S. Rangappa. the year saw many events including Indian Science Congress, Lecture series from Nobel Laureates, Inter-university National Youth Festival, National-level Inter-university Wrestling Champioship, South Zone Inter University Hockey Competition for Women and releasing commemorative coins and coffee table book.

The year-long centenary celebrations of the University of Mysore (UoM) culminated on July 22, 2016 with the Vice President of India, Hamid Ansari set to deliver the valedictory address at the Amphitheatre, Manasagangotri.

This list was prepared by Dr. Jinadatha

Additional information