Presidency Coins 

Indian Coins welcomes you to the Presidency Coins. This website is dedicated to all Presidency Coin collectors. The aim of this website is to provide all collectors with the best information on Madras Presidency Coins. This website has extensive information, detailed checklists and thousands of pictures with explanations. It also provides a discussion board and a classified section where you will be able to post an ad to buy or sell a coin. Constructive criticisms and suggestions are welcome. Good luck browsing the website.

Vasco-da-Gama was the first European sailor to reach India in May 1498. The discovery of India was in quest of wonderful spices and tea that the Europeans had fallen in love with. With India being discovered, the Portuguese were the first European nation to gain concessions in India. They were followed by the British and the French. Until their rivals arrived, the Portuguese held monopoly of trade between Europe and India. Goa, Div, Daman, Salsette and Bombay were the main colonies of the Portuguese. The Dutch and the English trading companies arrived in India in the earlier part of 17th century. Jalal-ud-Din Akbar was the Mogul Emperor at that time. Initial difficulties faced by earlier settlers included local Emperors, businessmen and wholesale traders, who had monopoly over the entire spice trade market. Once the settlers were granted permissions by few local Nawabs, the English East India Company (EIC) took firm root and started expanding gradually all over India. They forged alliances with local authorities, wholesale merchants and eventually established and became the rulers of the country. The initial settlements of the EIC were made at Masulipatam, Golkonda in southern India in 1611, followed by a factory at Surat in 1612 and rapid succession at Agra, Ahmadabad and Broach. By 1641, Masulipatam was superseded by Fort St George, which became the Company headquarters on the Cormandel coast, later to be called Madras Presidency. The chief factor in charge of each Company headquarters was called the President, hence the Presidencies. The EIC eventually established three Presidencies viz. Madras, Bombay and Bengal.


Madras, also known as Fort St George, was founded in 1640. It was the first territorial acquired by East India Company and it was the oldest among all the three presidencies (Madras, Bombay and Bengal). Madras Presidency was also known as Madraspatan or Chinapatan. The company obtained a small piece of land just outside the walls of Fort St George and started building a mint on March 1, 1640.


East-India company

 On the last day of 1600AD the company of the Merchants of London trading into East Indies, got the royal charter from Queen Elizabeth to monopoly for trade for 15 years. In 1608 AD the English company made its first attempt to establish a factory in India. But in 1618 East India Company got permission to establish a permanent factory at Surat and gradually in later years, it established factories at different parts of India. These East India Company traders gradually got involved in local politics and ultimately succeeded in becoming the rulers of India. Thus whole of India was under their control by 1834 AD. In 1857 AD the Indian People revolted against East India Company’s rule. It resulted in transfer of power from East India Company to British Monarchy. This rule resulted in the end of East India Company in India. The struggle for Independence continued by people of India till they succeeded in 1947 AD, when India got independence from British rule.
 1) In the very early stages the EIC imported special coins from England for
     the use in their factory and trades with other European Companies.

 2) Later, EIC got royal permission to mint their coins locally with English
     inscription for the local use of these coins with the people near by
     factories East India Company.

 3) For the company’s trade, far away from their factories they got the
     coins minted by Moghul Emperors. These coins were in Moghul style
     with Persian inscriptions. They were minted at Moghul mints from the
     bullion supplied by East India Company.

 4) From 1716 AD to 1835 AD as the EIC became politically strong, they
     minted their own coins in EIC mints, but in Moghul style. Those EIC
     coins were almost similar to Moghul coins. The borderline to separate
     EIC coins or distinguish them from Moghul coins is blurred and hence

 5) From 1835 AD uniform coinage in European style, with the effigy of
     British monarch, replacing the Moghul emperor’s name were issued

 6) From 1862 to 1947 AD coins were continued to issued with effigy of
     succeeding British Monarchs, till India got independence in 1947 AD


Additional information