The 21st Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference is being held in New Delhi from October 28 to November 4, 1975.
          The Commonwealth Parliamentary As­sociation is an Association of Common­wealth Parliamentarians, who irrespective of race, religion or culture, are united by community of interest, respect for the rule of law and the rights and freedoms of the individual citizen, and by pursuit of the posi­tive ideals of parliamentary democracy. The Association aims to promote understanding and co-operation among Commonwealth Parliamentarians and also to promote the study of and respect for parliamentary institutions throughout the Commonwealth. These objectives are pursued by means of conferences, exchange of Parliamentary delegations and seminars.
           The Association, founded in 1911, has evolved with the Commonwealth. Starting as the Empire Parliamentary Association, it changed its name in 1948 to the Com­monwealth Parliamentary Association. It is composed of Branches formed in Legisla­tures in Commonwealth countries. The Association has now over 90 Branches as its Members in Legislatures of the Com­monwealth countries. Every Branch is autonomous and its affairs are controlled by an Executive Committee elected annu­ally by Members and representatives of all main parties and groups. The Members of the Legislature in which a Branch is form­ed are entitled to become Members of that Branch. The Presiding Officers of the Legislative Chambers are normally the Branch Presidents.
            Prior to India's independence, the Cen­tral Legislative Assembly was a Member of the Empire Parliamentary Association. It ceased to function as the India Branch after August 15, 1947. In 1949, India renewed her membership following the change in the name and the constitution of the Asso­ciation. Besides the India Branch which is the main Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association at the Centre, there are at present nineteen State Branches in the States viz. Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pra­desh, Jammu & Kashmir, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.
         The Commonwealth Parliamentary Asso­ciation holds its plenary conference in a different Commonwealth country each year. This is the second time that this con­ference is being held in India, the first having been held in 1957.
          Dr. G. S. Dhillon, M.P., Speaker of Lok Sabha who is the President of Common­wealth Association is presiding over this conference.
          India is proud to play host to this Con­ference. The Posts and Telegraphs Depart­ment of the Government of India has great pleasure in commemorating the occasion by issuing a postage stamp on October 28, 1975 to mark the inauguration of the Con­ference.

This list was prepared by Dr. Jinadatha

Additional information