Republic India Coins

Republic India Coins are coins after India gained independence. India gained independence from the British rule on 15th August 1947. It was not until 1950 that Independent India first minted its first coin. These were issued on the eve of the 3rd anniversary of independence. The new coins had similar value, weight, metal composition, but the design was drastically different. The effigy of the King was replaced with the Ashoka pillar at Saranath. The symbol is a representation of peace and non-violence. Government of India was superscripted on top of Ashoka pillar. On the reverse, the valuation of the coin was inscribed. A new motif-a pair of ears of wheat-was placed of the two sides of the English numerals showing the value. The valuation was also inscribed in Hindi above English.

The Indian coinage can be divided into standard coinage 1950-1956. This was followed by the decimal coinage which is still in existence. Some special coins were minted in memory of special events or people and these are referred to as commemorative coins. These coins have been depicted on a separate website for convenience. Hope you will be able to utilize this website for educational and research purposes. Please do not hesitate to point out errors in typing as well as missing and new varieties. The checklists are not complete but are very extensive. All the pictures depicted are from the personal collection of ours with some valuable contributions from fellow collectors and friends. If you would like to contribute, please do not hesitate to contact us. Thank you for visiting and





Additional information